Star Screen Awards

The Star Screen Awards was started in 1997 by the Chairman Mr. Viveck Goenka the Chairman of The Express Group and the Awards was said to be one of first Awards in India .

This Award ceremony was marked to honour professionals in the Bollywood Film Industry and focus on the excellence in the films made in India.  The nominations and Award selection is done by a panel of distinguished personalities from the film fraternity as well as professionals from the industry .  The Awards are also called the Screen Awards and was originally called the Star Screen Awards.

The Star Screen Award was the first event to be held every year. The Awards are for present to Hindi and Marathi films, Television and Non-film music as well held in the month of January every year.    Over the years several editions have been added as an extension to this Award.

Initially the Award was sponsored by Videocon International and therefore the Award was named, “The Screen Videocon Awards” .    However after 2001, there came into existence , further additions to the Award ceremony which were, ‘Screen Weekly Awards, ‘ Screen Videocon Awards’, ‘Star Screen Awards’, ‘Life OK Screen Awards’ followed by the regional cinema of South India,  wherein Screen added three more Awards to facilitate the South Indian Cinema and called it, ‘ The Screen Awards for Excellence in South Indian Cinema’. This award is particularly presented for Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam and Kannada cinema only.

The Executive Director and the Governor of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences is involved actively in the Star Screen Awards Ceremony while the event is created and designed by Anil Jha and Mohomed Morani and Cineyug Group of companies have produced and executed the event.

Star Screen Awards that was instituted 22 years ago is one of the most realistic and esteemed Awards in the Hindi Cinema.  The Star Screen Jury chooses winner from various categories but the most popular being the Award for Best Actor ( Male and Female) and Best Jodi of the Year is by Popular Choice which is resulted from the votes received from the audience , fans and movie buffs.