Filmfare Awards

The Filmfare Awards,  one of the most popular awards presented annually started by the Times Group in the year 1954 when it was first introduced to honour professionals with artistic and technical excellence in the Hindi Language films.  

This prestigious Award is one of the oldest film events in India and was launched during the same year when National Film Awards came into existence.

The Filmfare Awards was initially started as the Clare Awards , named after the Editor of The Times of India Clare Mendonca.  

The difference between the two Awards, the Filmfare Awards and the National Film Awards is that a dual voting system was incorporated in 1956 wherein Awards are voted by both the public and the committee of experts on board,  while in the National Film Award, a fixed panel is appointed by Indian Government to decide on the Awards.

The Filmfare Awards is not only a paramount in the film industry,  but was one of the most recognized and a very popular Awards in the Indian Film Industry until several other similar award ceremonies started sprouting up in Mumbai.   The Filmfare Awards has often been referred to as equivalent to Oscars  in the Hindi Film Industry.   A few years back Filmfare Awards started with the Filmfare Marathi Awards for the Marathi films and Marathi plays as well.